Everyone looks like they’ve got fucking nits and eat lentil soup with their sleeves rolled up. They all look like they live on the heath. Maybe that’s where they record. Everyone’s fucking Don McLean — far too many acoustic guitars, no style. They look like they shop at Oxfam. I wouldn’t put any posters up of any band if I was a 16-year-old lad. There’s none of that sitting down on fucking stools for me, sweetheart.
Oasis tribute band frontman and occasional dickhead Liam Gallagher gives his verdict on the musical marmite that is Mumford & Sons. For the record, we agree with him.
If I was a ginger Prince and third in line to the throne, I’d get pissed and naked every night. Just for the hell of it.
For once, we sort of have to agree with Liam Gallagher, frontman of Oasis tribute band Beady Eye.
Noel Gallagher announces solo album

The funnier, more talented of Manchester’s most famous siblings has finally announced his long-awaited solo album, entitled "High Flying Birds". Set for release on Gallagher’s own Sour Mash label on October 17th this year, the LP is Noel’s first material since Oasis’ demise in 2009, and will be followed up by a second LP in 2012, collaborating with Amorphous Androgynous (who were responsible for the epic remix of “Falling Down”). 

Musicians appearing on the records include ex-Oasis keyboard player Mike Rowe, The Lemon Trees’ Jeremy Stacey and American percussionist Lenny Castro, best known for playing on records by The Rolling Stones, Stevie Wonder and Elton John. The album also includes guest appearances from the Crouch End Festival Chorus, who Oasis and Gallagher have performed with before, and The Wired Strings. The album also features “(I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine” and “Stop The Clocks”, two songs which were long rumoured to be included on an Oasis release. Demos of the tracks have been floating around the net for some time.

Gallagher is due to tour in the autumn but no further details have been announced yet. The full tracklisting for ‘High Flying Birds’ is:

  1. "Everybody’s On The Run"
  2. "Dream On"
  3. "If I Had A Gun"
  4. "The Death Of You And Me"
  5. "(I Wanna Live In A Dream In My) Record Machine"
  6. "AKA…What A Life!"
  7. "Soldier Boys And Jesus Freaks"
  8. "AKA….Broken Arrow"
  9. "(Stranded On) The Wrong Beach"
  10. "Stop The Clocks"

Rumours surfaced earlier this year that the first single from the record will be the ‘The Death Of You And Me’.

And Liam Gallagher’s response to the news? Witty as ever…